Runpod vs Lambda compares a flexible GPU cloud with per-second Pods and Serverless against a GPU cloud built around on-demand instances and large training clusters. On list prices, Runpod is usually cheaper for single GPUs: an H100 SXM is $3.99 an hour on Runpod’s pricing card against $4.29 for a single H100 SXM on Lambda, and an A6000-class GPU is $0.59 on Runpod against $1.09 on Lambda. Both offer multi-node clusters for large training jobs; Lambda publishes per-GPU prices for its 1-Click Clusters and offers 8-GPU on-demand instances. Choose Runpod for inference, experiments and Serverless; consider Lambda for term-based, multi-GPU training capacity.
Disclosure: some links in this article may be affiliate or referral links. If you sign up through them, scientyficworld.org may earn a commission or credits at no extra cost to you. It does not change our recommendations.
Prices were checked on 12 October 2026 on Runpod’s pricing page and Lambda’s pricing page. Lambda’s prices exclude sales tax or VAT.
At a Glance
| Runpod | Lambda | |
|---|---|---|
| Products | Pods, Serverless, Instant Clusters | On-demand instances (1 to 8 GPUs), 1-Click Clusters, reserved capacity |
| Serverless GPUs | Yes, per-second, scales to zero | Not listed on its pricing page |
| Cheapest tier | Community Cloud Pods | On-demand instances |
| Multi-node clusters | Instant Clusters: 2–8 nodes (16–64 GPUs); up to 512 GPUs via sales | 1-Click Clusters of 16 to 256+ GPUs, terms of 2 weeks to 1 year |
| Data transfer | Free ingress and egress | Not stated on the pricing page |
GPU Prices Compared
| GPU | Runpod Pod (pricing card) | Lambda on-demand (per GPU-hour) |
|---|---|---|
| H100 SXM 80GB | $3.99 (Community from $2.69) | $4.29 (1x); $3.99 (8x) |
| H100 PCIe 80GB | $2.89 (Community from $1.99) | $3.29 (1x) |
| A100 SXM 80GB | $1.79 | $2.79 (8x) |
| A100 40GB | n/a (Runpod lists 80GB A100s) | $1.99 |
| RTX A6000 48GB | $0.59 | $1.09 |
| B200 | See Runpod console | $6.99 (1x); $6.69 (8x) |
Lambda’s 1-Click Clusters are priced per GPU-hour for terms from two weeks to a year: H100 from $5.54 to $6.16 and B200 from $8.87 to $9.86 depending on cluster size, with longer terms by quote. These include the interconnect and capacity guarantees that large distributed training needs, so they are not directly comparable to single-GPU rates.
Where Each One Wins
- Runpod wins on flexibility and entry price: per-second billing, consumer and workstation GPUs such as the RTX 4090 and 5090, Community Cloud for cheaper experiments, free data transfer, and Serverless workers that scale to zero for inference. See Runpod pricing explained for the Pod vs Serverless maths.
- Lambda is strong when you need many high-end GPUs on a term: it offers 8-GPU instances of H100 and B200, published per-GPU prices for 1-Click Clusters of 16 to 256+ GPUs, and reserved-capacity deals. Runpod’s Instant Clusters cover 16 to 64 GPUs self-serve, with larger clusters through sales.
Which Should You Choose?
| Choose Runpod if… | Choose Lambda if… |
|---|---|
| You serve models and want Serverless | You train large models across many GPUs |
| You want the lowest single-GPU price | You need 8-GPU nodes or multi-node clusters |
| You use consumer GPUs such as the RTX 4090 or 5090 | You want reserved capacity on a term contract |
| You move a lot of data in and out | You prefer a traditional instance-based cloud |
If price is your main concern and your jobs tolerate interruptions, also compare Runpod vs Vast.ai.
If Runpod fits your workload, you can create a Runpod account here and compare live GPU prices before you deploy.
Conclusion
For most individual developers and small teams, Runpod is the cheaper and more flexible choice, especially for inference. Lambda earns its place when the job is large-scale training on many high-end GPUs. Compare the GPU you actually need on both pricing pages on the day you buy, because GPU cloud prices change often.
Is Runpod cheaper than Lambda?
For single GPUs on list prices, usually yes. An H100 SXM is $3.99 an hour on Runpod’s pricing card (less on Community Cloud) and $4.29 for a single GPU on Lambda; an RTX A6000 is $0.59 on Runpod and $1.09 on Lambda.
Does Lambda offer serverless GPUs?
Lambda’s pricing page lists on-demand instances, 1-Click Clusters and reserved capacity, not a serverless product. Runpod offers Serverless workers that scale to zero.
Which is better for training large models?
Both offer multi-node clusters: Runpod Instant Clusters cover 16 to 64 GPUs self-serve (up to 512 via sales), and Lambda 1-Click Clusters cover 16 to 256+ GPUs on terms of two weeks to a year. For single-GPU and smaller jobs, Runpod is usually cheaper on list prices.
Do Runpod and Lambda charge for data transfer?
Runpod states there are no ingress or egress fees. Lambda’s pricing page does not state transfer fees, so check its terms before moving large datasets.